Easton Foundation and NFAA Foundation Award $13,500 Archery Scholarships


Yankton, SD, March 1, 2010—Easton Sports Development Foundation and the National Field Archery Association Foundation are pleased to announce the Archery Scholarship Recipients for 2010. Total scholarships of $13,500 were awarded to 15 student athletes in middle school, high school, and college that compete with either compound or recurve bows. Individual scholarship awards varied from $500 to $2,500, with the top awards going to Aaron Henslin and Samantha Pruitte, both from Georgia.


“Archery began for me as a member of a local 4-H and JOAD Program and has now become a six year passion”, Aaron stated. He has made several World Teams, competed internationally on three continents and has been a three time member of the Junior United States Archery Team. He holds two National Records and has several National Championships to his credit.

Samantha said “Archery has provided me many opportunities that I would not have otherwise had. Though it took many hours of dedicated training and focus over the years, it has paid off. Archery has helped me to develop the skills needed to not only compete successfully, but to also succeed in my personal and scholastic efforts. I want to thank the Easton and NFAA Foundations for recognizing me with one of their top scholarship award in 2010.”

“Samantha and Aaron are both outstanding athletes that developed their archery skill in youth programs, currently hold the top compound and number two recurve Junior USAT ranking respectively, and we are very pleased to award each of them our top $2,500 scholarship awards for 2010”, stated Bruce Cull, President, NFAA.

NFAA Scholarships were first awarded in 1990 to student athletes that compete in archery and excel in academic and intellectual achievement. The limitations of the original scholarship program were resolved in 2009 with the creation of the joint NFAA/Easton Foundation Scholarship Program. “The Easton and NFAA Foundations share the goal to support student athletes that compete in archery. We believe these scholarships will help us to develop stronger college archery programs and strengthen future Olympic and World Championship Teams. By combining our respective Foundation programs, we can award more student scholarships, and increase the scholarship levels. In 2010, $13,500 was awarded to fifteen recipients. We expect the number of applications to increase in future years, and plan to award $50,000 in total annual scholarships in 2011,” said Erik Watts, Director Easton Foundation.

The 2009-11 scholarships are funded by an initial $150,000 grant from the Easton Foundation to the Easton-NFAA Foundation Scholarship Program. Future net revenue from the Easton Foundation Regional Archery Center in Yankton, plus scholarship donations from both individuals and companies will be held in an endowment account to fund the scholarships in 2012 and beyond.

Dave Gordon, of Gordon Composites, made a large personal contribution to the scholarship endowment fund. Dave stated, “Archery has been a big part of both my personal and business success. I believe the Easton-NFAA Foundation Scholarship program is an outstanding program to support our youth archers, and allows me to give back to the sport I love. Awarding our best archers and student athletes scholarships that allow them to pursue further education while competing in archery will help develop much stronger youth and college archery programs. I encourage everyone that shares my passion for archery and desire to support our young archers to make their own donation to the scholarship program.”

Individuals or companies interested in donating to the scholarship endowment fund or learning more about the program are encouraged to contact Bruce Cull, NFAA President. The NFAA Foundation is a 501(c )3 Public Charity and all donations meet the IRS requirements as charitable donations.

Scholarship applications, program requirements, and additional information is available on the NFAA website at www.nfaa-archery.org, or from the NFAA Headquarters, 800 Archery Lane, Yankton, SD 57078. All applications for 2010 scholarships must be submitted to the NFAA Office by December 31, 2010. For additional information contact Marihelen Rogers, Executive Director, at 605-260-9279 Ext. 102 or at NFAAArchery@aol.com NFAA President, Bruce Cull (L), Aaron Henslin 2010 ESDF/NFAA Scholarship recipient, ESDF Vice-President, Don Rabska (R).

Additional Scholarships were awarded to the following student athletes: 
$1,500 to Kacey Eggers, Nebraska
$1,000 to Joseph Hunt, Maine
$1,000 to Evan Scudner, Pennsylvania
$1,000 to Gregory Begenyi, Arizona
$500 to Paige Pearce, California
$500 to Benjamin Human, Texas
$500 to Tristan Skarvan, Wisconsin
$500 to Carli Cochran, Pennsylvania
$500 to Brett Crouse, Michigan
$500 to Adam Gallant, Maine
$500 to Seth Logsdon, Illinois
$500 to Forrest Blakley, Illinois

For a PDF of this release, please click 2010 EF and NFAA Scholarships.