Easton Foundation and NFAA Foundation Award $15,500 Archery Scholarships


Date: September 24, 2012

Easton Foundation and NFAA Foundation Award $15,500 Archery Scholarships


Yankton, SD – Easton Sports Development Foundation and the National Field Archery Association Foundation are pleased to announce the Archery Scholarship Recipients for 2012.  $15,500 in total scholarships was awarded to 18 student athletes in middle school, high school, and college that compete with either compound or recurve bows.  Individual scholarship awards varied from $500 to $2000.  The top scholarship was awarded to Levi Cyr of Falmouth, Maine.

Levi attends Southern Maine Community College where he is working towards a degree in Criminal Justice.  He was a part of the Jr. USAT Team four different years.  He has travelled to Wales, Turkey, Columbia, Porto Rico, and Hungary.  Levi earned two World Championship Team Gold medals and numerous other archery awards.  In addition to archery, he belongs to the American Society of Welders and has been a Falmouth Volunteer Fire Fighter for four years.

“Levi and the other recipients are all outstanding athletes that developed their archery skill in youth programs, and have become seasoned competitive archers.  We are pleased to award them scholarships for 2012”, stated Bruce Cull, President, NFAA.

NFAA Scholarships were first awarded in 1990 to student athletes that compete in archery and excel in academic and intellectual achievement.  The limitations of the original scholarship programs were resolved in 2009 with the creation of the joint NFAA/Easton Foundation Scholarship Program.  “The Easton and NFAA Foundations share the goal to support student athletes that compete in archery.  We believe these scholarships will help us to develop stronger college archery programs and strengthen future Olympic and World Championship Teams.  By combining our respective Foundation programs, we can award more student scholarships, and increase the scholarship levels”, said Greg Easton, President Easton Foundations.

The 2009-11 scholarships are funded by an initial $150,000 grant from the Easton Foundation to the Easton-NFAA Foundation Scholarship Program.  Future net revenue from the NFAA Easton Yankton Archery Complex, plus scholarship donations from both individuals and companies will be held in an endowment account to fund the scholarships in 2012 and beyond.

Dave Gordon, of Gordon Composited, made a large personal contribution to the scholarship endowment fund.  Dave stated, “Archery has been a big part of both my personal and business success.  I believe the Easton-NFAA Foundation Scholarship program is an outstanding program to support our youth archers, and allows me to give back to the sport I love.  Awarding our best archers and student athletes scholarships that allow them to pursue further education while competing in archery will help develop much stronger youth and college archery programs.  I encourage everyone that shares my passion for archery and desire to support our young archers to make their own donation to the scholarship program.”  Individuals or companies interested in donating to the scholarship endowment fund or learning more about the program are encouraged to contact Bruce Cull, NFAA President.  The NFAA Foundation is a 501(c)3 Public Charity and all donations meet the IRS requirements as charitable donations.

Congratulations also to the other 2012 Scholarship recipients:  Michelle Gillbert – Maryland, Paige Pearce – California, Riley Whiting – Utah, Tristan Skarvan – Wisconsin, Evan Scudner – Pennsylvania, Sean McLaughlin – Ohio, Ariel Gibilaro – Connecticut, Brett Crouse – Michigan, Christopher Bee – Michigan, Daniel McLaughlin – Ohio, Elizabeth Caughell – Washington, Emily Bee – Michigan, Jamie Van Lent – South Dakota, Joey Hunt – Maine, Karen Smith – Texas, Katherine Alexander – California, and Shannon Ostling – Washington. 

Scholarship applications, program requirements, and additional information are available on the NFAA website at www.nfaausa.com, or from the NFAA Headquarters, 800 Archery Lane, Yankton, SD  57078.  All applications for 2013 scholarships must be submitted to the NFAA Office by December 31, 2012.  For additional information contact Natalie Vollmer, NFAA Executive Secretary, at 605-260-9279 or at nvollmer@nfaausa.com.

Caption for picture:  Bruce Cull – NFAA President, one of the 2012 recipients – Jamie Van Lent, and Don Rabska – Easton Foundation.